Minimalist Sunday

posted by: Kelly Murphy

Today is a minimalist Sunday for me. No running around like crazy trying to get things done (since tomorrow is Monday and I haven’t gotten everything done on my list, “Ahh!”) Have you ever shared that feeling?

But…. just for today, I am planning to relax, rather than running around like a chicken with my head cut off.

Just for today, I plan on listening to what others say, rather than being distracted because I am trying to multitask (because tomorrow is Monday, and I am trying to slam in everything I didn’t get to do this weekend).

This is a new concept for me, being a perfectionist-challenged person.    I will listen to my daughter when she speaks to me, rather than looking at a magazine, or computer, or the TV, so that I can be fully present.

Today, I am going to savor every moment I have with her, listen to every silly comment, deep thought, and story she wants to tell me.

And last of all…..today, I will look out amid God’s creation and see His beauty, whether it is in the cityscapes or the mountains of the country, or whether it is within the nice person behind the counter @ the gas station or grocery store, or in the guy who tailgates me, if I drive my car.

So, what will you do today, so you’ll have no regrets, tomorrow?

Happy Sunday!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TheExistentialCoach (@LindaDeLuca)
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 09:44:04

    Kelly,
    I call Sunday my ‘unplugged’ day. As a virtual business owner, I can pretty much work 24/7. But we know that doesn’t work. Even though I love what I do, like you I have a perfectionist streak. I found myself working 18/7 and was running out of fuel.
    Now I unplug every Sunday which means no internet, limited TV, and no business related reading or writing.
    It makes a difference for me.
    I love your focus on listening and being in the moment to observe the wonder around you. I’m going to add that to my Sunday menu as well.
    Thanks!

    Reply

    • mooving2minimalism
      Sep 12, 2011 @ 16:49:48

      Hi Linda,
      Thanks for sharing your “unplug” idea! And, yes, we perfectionists have a hard time with that one. I even catch myself trying to “relax faster” to have more time to relax!! LOL! Thanks for sharing,

      Reply

Leave a Reply

