A Quick Way 2 Clean Your Refrigerator Coils

Post by: Kelly MurphyBriley

Hey friends!  I discovered something powerful this week….

a time-saving way to clean the coils on my refrigerator. I didn’t do this before the move, but waited until I arrived. I’d already cleaned out the inside before I left, but gave it a swipe with a soapy dishcloth anyway.

What I hadn’t done in several years, was clean the coils. Now, if you, like me,  read all kinds of tips to save on electricity and energy, and while doing so think…  I’ve done that. Oh, I do that! Done that.. etc. ( I am sooo proud of myself, until I get to the part about cleaning off the refrigerator coils behind and under the refrigerator.) then…you need this lesson!

I know from experience it is really easy to accidentally mess something up, or touch something just enough to mess something up, while doing this because I have done it.

I once cleaned the coils under my refrigerator and knocked some hose off that I had to receive help from a very good Mr. Fix-It, (not my husband) –to get it back on. It took two hours of both of us laying on the kitchen floor, and a lot of aggravation to get it done though!  I want to help you avoid going through what I did, so here it is…
my new way of cleaning out the coils on the refrigerator.

~take the front vent off at the front bottom of the refrigerator. You can clean it later.
~using a wrench, take the cardboard back near the bottom with a frig, off. Clean it off and set aside.
~using your blower that you use in the yard, (Yes, you heard me correctly)  turn it on and aim it under the refrigerator and wherever you see “stuff.”
~Make sure you have anything near the refrigerator that would fall off or blow away, put up or in another room.  This part may take a bit of time, but it is still less time than it would take to crawl around the floor trying to suck out all the dust with a vacuum cleaner.
~And it is a good idea to aim all the stuff that will come out from under your refrigerator toward the back door or open a window, or just let it fly and vacuum it up when you have completed the blowing.

~ It’s later…. so wash off the ventl from the bottom front of the frig, and put it back on.

I know this is a very weird idea, but it took me 5-10 minutes vs. 30 minutes to an hour of trying to vacuum the coils without getting my hands cut up. Just be sure your frig is unplugged when you are blowing!

Good luck! Let me know how it works @akellygal@yahoo.com, or leave a comment below.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victoria - Ozarks Crescent Mural
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 02:01:53

    That’s a great idea! How’d you come up with that?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

