Mama-isms

Posted by: Kelly Murphy-Briley

Come on….  I know you know what I’m talking about.  All those things your mom told you as you were growing up.  Those things you heard over and over until you  sighed deeply, and rolled your eyes, (but not in her presence).

I’ll go first and you can share some of yours! Ok, here we go!

  • The first and most used~Where there is a will there’s a way.
  • Keep looking… I know it’s there!
  • If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.(Thanks, Thumper’s Dad!)
  • If you want something done right, do it yourself.
  • Pretty is, as pretty does! (Thanks, Little Mom!)
  • Just because someone jumps off a cliff, does that mean you will too?
  • Necessity is the mother of invention.
  • Are your arms and legs broken?
  • Close the door!
  • Turn off the light!
  • Don’t run in the house, and don’t bounce the ball in the house!
  • If I have to get up and come in there….!
  • If you’re bored, go outside and run around the house!
  • There’s always peanut butter! (This was given in response to any complaint about what was being served @ supper or in between.)

These quotes, certainly helped shaped me into the person I am today!

What about you? Any memorable, favorite, or mind-blowing, life-changing quotes from your mother? Subscribe, comment and share your favorite Mama-ism and then go—— call your mom, write her a note, give her a hug and make sure she knows how you feel about her! 

Happy Mother’s Day!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marv53
    May 07, 2011 @ 01:50:10

    Yeah, my Mom said a lot of those mama-isms. A special one I remember is “I hope you have a child that causes you as many problems as you cause me.” I thought she was joking and of course years later I had to call her and tell her she got her wish. Oooh, the joy of memories. Happy Mothers Day.

    Reply

    • mooving2minimalism
      May 07, 2011 @ 17:55:46

      Hi marv53! Welcome back! That is so funny! Yeah, don’t ya hate it when that happens? And now, you and your mom can empathize with each other! The experts say that empathy is the highest compliment you can provide in a relationship, so congratulations! I will probably be hearing that one too! Yep, memories are terrific!!!! Thanks for your comment!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

