What’s Really Important?

Fallen tree across Oakridge in Memphis

posted by: Kelly Murphy-Briley

Well, this week Memphis has been wrecked with high winds or as I call it, Hurricane Elvis II, and in retrospect, I discovered something…. I know what I would take if I thought my life was in jeopardy. I used to wonder, because I thought…what would I grab?
Well, I figured it out. Not the photos, or jewelry. It is my loved ones. My daughter, my dog Coco, and I were together when the storm hit, and we were mesmerized as we looked out our door. (Then we realized we probably shouldn’t be near glass, during all of this.  As we watched everything swirling around, and heard trees falling, I started praying. “Lord, please not us, not the house, and not the car!  

That’s when I heard trees breaking.. I live in a neighborhood with MATURE trees, so all this is a legitimate concern.  When it was over, and we were fine, I looked out the window and felt very blessed. The top of a huge tree had fallen on our back patio, on top of our new lawn furniture and yet, nothing was broken, no glass, nor the lawn furniture. Even the blue decorative bottle sitting on top of the lawn table was intact, just knocked over!  We lost three dog eared fence planks., and God did us a favor by topping out that worrisome tree branch for us. (Yeah, God!)

Some positive aspects were:

I had my daughter with me so I didn’t have to wonder if she was ok @ school. Call it controlling but if I am gonna die, I’d rather die with my kid!

I meet Jamel, a very nice news anchor from  Channel 13. Our neighborhood got a lot of attention this week, so all the news folks were out in droves. I guess it was on the news but I had no power, so couldn’t use the TV to see it!

I met, and got to shake Mayor Wharton’s hand. (I already liked him and the direction he is leading Memphis, but it was still nice to meet him)
My dog stopped trembling and pacing the floor!

Memphis Light Gas and Water guys were great, but I think I still want to have a few solar panels and solar phone charger! And a gas stove and wood fireplace! I know where I could get plenty of wood!

I got to know my neighbors a bit better too, and that is always “a good thing!” (Thanks, Marvin!)

What can I say about my minimalist power fast? I can only be Laura Ingalls Wilder, for so long, and I am glad it’s over!  I’ll have to think about it, but I will tell you in my next post what I missed the most due to having no electricity. 
Have a great weekend, and thanks for reading! Subscribe, subscribe, subscribe!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marv53
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 06:04:16

    With large oaks being blown over and limbs breaking all around our houses, we in our neighborhood that survived without the need of home repairs and insurance adjusters received a real blessing from God that day.

    To go without the convenience the utility company provides is always a wake up call. Thank the lord it was only electricity this time.

    Having a generator, discomfort was minimal at my house. I too found the time spent with my neighbors and their families very enjoyable. I feel fortunate to have been able to share this time and my home.

    Reply

    • mooving2minimalism
      Apr 09, 2011 @ 06:12:48

      Yes, you are right! God took care of us, and yes we all should be thankful. The wakeup calls are what help us be recall what is really important, I think.
      Even a cup of hot water, or hot coffee, can be quite a blessing! Thanks for sharing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

