The Cleaning Urge

     Maybe it’s just me, but there is something about January…new year-new beginning, that makes me want to clean!   Having just had a long, rainy, cold spell, it was fantastic to see the sun peaking through the clouds yesterday!  But that is also when I realized how dusty the house was!  Suddenly- I felt it. That urge to CLEAN! 

 Now, you may be saying to yourself..I never get that urge.. but I think probably at some point everyone does, we just maybe too busy to act on it!   After all, there are so many other more pressing obligations, (kids, meal-prep, kid taxi service, jobs) to do and isn’t it the cleaning that usually gets pushed to the back burner? Yeah, at my house, too. 

 For me, cleaning is cheap therapy, but I think I might actually enjoy it now!  And I  might as well, I have to do it anyway.  Maybe you are lucky enough to have someone do it for you, but  the rest of us end up doing it ourselves.   So, here is my chosen method when I have limited time.  Let me know what you think…

  • Focus on one room at a time.  I started this when my daughter was small, since I knew I would be regularly interrupted while working.  
  •  If possible, plan to clean the room with the most sunlight coming in. If you don’t have that choice,  pick the room that bothers you the most when it is messy.
  •  Pick up any visible clutter  and put it back in its designated area or room. For example, toys get put in whose ever room they belong, magazines get put where they belong, glasses or dishes get immediately put in the dishwasher or sink, (don’t wash them now, you are sticking to the one room)  throws or pillows get carried to the laundry to be washed later.
  • Vacuum or Sweep , move all furniture away from walls a few feet, if possible.
  • Dust the baseboards while the furniture is pulled out, either with a vacumm cleaner dusting tool or a wet dustrag.   (I like to make my own swifer pads out of old flannel sheets or pjs. No sewing required, just use a swiffer pad for a pattern and use scissors.)   You can then either re-wash the homemade swiffer cloths in your washer to reuse, or dispose of them. Personally, they have to be really filthy for me to justify trashing them, and I am not one to take them outside and shake them either. Eewwh! I am sneezing just thinking about it!
  • Vacuum behind furniture. Do this before vacuuming/sweeping the main area and pathway.
  •  Get behind the furniture and dust the baseboards.  
  •  Take down, and launder curtains that need laundering and start that laundry load. Dust or vacuum the backs of couches or chairs, and windows and windowsills while the  furniture is still pulled out if this applies. Otherwise,  just clean the baseboards. 
  • Clean or vacuum couch or chairs, and under the couch cushions. (Put that money you find in your piggy bank!)
  •  Remove cushion covers or slip covers and put them near or in the washer and start the washing cycle, or wash them with the curtains, if possible. Wash curtains first, so you can push back the furniture. They can be washing while you are continuing to clean the room.
  •  Next, dust all windowsills, window glass, door facings, vents, picture frames and glass, books, or anything else on the walls or on bookshelves. 
  •  Now finish vacuuming/sweeping the rest of the room and clean any other baseboards not yet dusted. 
  •  Finish cleaning the middle of the room by swiffer, mop or dust mop.
  • Vacuum under and atop any area rugs. (If these need laundering, decide when you will do this or have it done, then schedule it on your calendar).
  • Dust any other surfaces. Rehang curtains and put cushion covers or slip covers back.
  • Start your laundry load of throw pillows. Wash the dishes in the kitchen or start the dishwasher. (You now have a start on cleaning your next room!)
  •   Sit back and enjoy that feeling of knowing you have one really clean room!  Wohoo!!!
5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victoria - Ozarks Crescent Mural
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 07:40:20

    I thought I’d let you know about SlabTown Customs in Mountain View, AR. I learned about SlabTown’s tiny houses via Kent’s posts at Tiny House Blog. He does the most awesome tiny houses for amazing prices. Here’s the contact info – http://slabtowncustoms.com/, ozarksbest@yahoo.com, Scott Stewart 870-
    213-5310 – and I’ve let Scott know about you too, since you may just be interested soon or down the road. Kent posted one of his tiny houses not too long ago that I just loved on Tiny House Blog. Scott was selling it for only $5,000 on sale complete with a kitchen and a bathroom. That’s the best price I’ve ever seen and it’s in the Ozarks, so perfect for not having to pay outrageous moving costs.

    Reply

  2. Victoria - Ozarks Crescent Mural
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 04:46:05

    Kelly, I appreciate your comment on my guest post over at Kent’s Tiny House Blog. I’m glad you have a blog. I’ve added you to my email updates, so I’ll see all your new posts. Maybe we’ll meet someday since you’ll be in the Ozarks too. You had some questions in your comment, so feel free to just drop me an email at mailtomymac@gmail.com. I’d love to talk anytime! Victoria at Ozarks Crescent Mural

    Reply

    • mooving2minimalism
      Feb 02, 2011 @ 23:42:37

      Victoria,
      You’re welcome! Thanks for doing the guest post! I love the idea of little houses, and of course, I want one NOW! But that takes patience, right!? I could talk about the Ozarks all day, so I will drop you an email!
      Also, thanks for checking out my blog, and feel free to leave me comments or input anytime!
      Kelly

      Reply

  3. Patti Foy | Lightspirited Being
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 02:34:51

    Hi Kelly,
    Wow, you nailed me with this one: “Now, you may be saying to yourself..I never get that urge.. but I think probably at some point everyone does, we just maybe too busy to act on it!” So true!
    Plus, if and when I do clean, it feels so good!
    Thanks for the reminder, I need it…

    Reply

    • mooving2minimalism
      Feb 02, 2011 @ 23:37:21

      Patti,
      Well, thank you! I must agree that it certainly feels so good, when it is done! That’s usually what I keep telling myself when I’m doing it, too! Thanks for clicking over to comment, and come back soon! !

      Reply

Leave a Reply

